Alzheimer’s Disease: The Forgotten Epidemic

The Bioethics Program

by Sean Philpott-Jones, Director of the Center for Bioethics and Clinical Leadership

We hosted a conference on Alzheimer’s disease at the College last week, inviting a distinguished group of physicians, researchers, caregivers, advocates and policymakers to discuss the ethical and legal challenges of diagnosing and treating those with the disease.

These issues are particularly important to me. I have immediate family members who have been affected by Alzheimer’s disease, as patients and as long-term caregivers. I also carry a genetic trait known as APOE-e4 that makes me far more likely to develop the disease, and to do so at a younger age.

As someone whose career and self-worth are tied to my ability to think and write creatively, the very thought that I could slowly lose everything that makes me who I am terrifies me. I also worry about the huge personal and financial impact that a diagnosis of…

View original post 747 more words

Leave a Reply

